Christie Rampone Selected for NWSL Best XI

MORRISTOWN, NJ (AUGUST 28, 2013) – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced Wednesday the Best XI selections for the 2013 NWSL season with Sky Blue FC and U.S. Women’s National Team defender Christie Rampone making the squad. Teammate and Australian international Caitlin Foord was voted to the Second XI team.

Western New York Flash forward Abby Wambach and defender Brittany Taylor were among the 11 players selected ahead of the 2013 NWSL Championship game on Saturday, Aug. 31 at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. between the Flash and Portland Thorns FC. The game kicks off at 8 p.m. ET and will be broadcast nationally live on FOX Sports 2.


At 23, Boston Breakers forward Sydney Leroux is the youngest member of the squad, which is comprised of seven allocated players from the United States and Canada women’s national teams and four non-allocated players. FC Kansas City had the most selections of any team with four.


The NWSL Best XI team (listed at position, alphabetically by last name):




Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City



Christie Rampone, Sky Blue FC

Leigh Ann Robinson, FC Kansas City

Becky Sauerbrunn, FC Kansas City

Brittany Taylor, Western New York Flash


Lori Chalupny, Chicago Red Stars

Jess Fishlock, Seattle Reign FC

Lauren Holiday, FC Kansas City

Diana Matheson, Washington Spirit



Sydney Leroux, Boston Breakers

Abby Wambach, Western New York Flash




NWSL Second XI –


Adrianna Franch, Western New York Flash –


Rachel Buehler, Portland Thorns FC; Caitlin Foord, Sky Blue FC; Ali Krieger, Washington Spirit; Lauren Sesselmann, FC Kansas City –


Megan Rapinoe, Seattle Reign FC; Desiree Scott, FC Kansas City; Erika Tymrak, FC Kansas City –


Alex Morgan, Portland Thorns FC; Lianne Sanderson, Boston Breakers; Christine Sinclair, Portland Thorns FC


“I came over here for a new experience and to better my football,” Foord said. “Obviously being named to this team says I had a good result. Although it’s unfortunate my season got cut short (due to injury), I’ve had the most amazing experience. This award just tops it all off. I hope to come back next year.”


The NWSL awards are voted on by a selection of journalists that cover the league on a consistent basis, club officials and NWSL players.


Voters for the Best XI provided selections for four (4) defenders and a combination of six (6) midfielders or forwards; with the ability to select a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of three (3) forwards. The Goalkeeper of the Year was automatically named to the Best XI.


The Second XI is comprised of the next leading vote getters at each position that did not make the Best XI.