Kailen Sheridan Nominated for 2019 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year

National Women’s Soccer League announces nominees for the 2019 NWSL awards

Howell, NJ (October 17, 2019)– The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) has officially announced the list of 2019 NWSL Awards featuring the Most Valuable Player, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Best XI, and Second XI. The 2019 NWSL Awards will be voted upon in two rounds with fans having the opportunity to participate in the voting process.

In the preliminary round of voting, owners, general managers, coaches, players and the media voted on the individual awards to determine the top finalists. The finalists for each of the 2019 NWSL Awards are:

MVP: Debinha (North Carolina Courage), Kristen Hamilton (North Carolina Courage), Sam Kerr, (Chicago Red Stars), Yuki Nagasato (Chicago Red Stars), Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)

Defender of the Year: Lauren Barnes (Reign FC), Abby Erceg (North Carolina Courage), Jaelene Hinkle (North Carolina Courage), Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Aubrey Bledsoe (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (Reign FC), Kailen Sheridan (Sky Blue FC)

Rookie of the Year: Bethany Balcer (Reign FC), Jordan DiBiasi (Washington Spirit), Sam Staab (Washington Spirit)

Coach of the Year: Vlatko Andonovski (Reign FC), Richie Burke (Washington Spirit), Paul Riley (North Carolina Courage)

Fans are invited to join the final round of voting from October 17 to October 22, to determine the individual award winners, Best XI, and Second XI. The final round of voting uses a weighted scale, broken down by players (40%), owners/GMs/coaches (20%), media (20%) and fans (20%).

All 2019 NWSL Award winners will be announced in the days leading up to and after the NWSL Championship game on Sunday, Oct. 27 at 3:30 p.m. (ET) on ESPN at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, NC.